Books on the Horizon

by Michael Zabel

Books, while they still exist in tangible form, are arguably the best resource for learning.  Personally I find them to be the last bastion of self-education and having a good personal library at your disposal is as important as any paintbrush or software used in your daily workflow.   But enough of my waxing, here are a few palpable books in my near future:

Some books.

Some books I’m going to read soon…

The Breakdown

On the Map by Simon Garfield

On the Map by Simon Garfield

On the Map by Simon Garfield

This is a book I’ve been wanting to read and I’m finally getting around to it.  Simon Garfield peaked my interest with his previous title, Just My Type, which is about typography and it’s significance in society.  To be honest I was first drawn in by the cover of this book (yes, sometimes I do judge a book by it’s cover) and once I noticed that the author was Mr. Garfield, I put it on my list and the rest is history.  Note:  This is indeed a title that I borrowed from my local public library, so my previous statement about the importance of personal libraries need not apply to this one in particular.

The Freelancer's Bible

The Freelancer’s Bible by Sara Horowitz

The Freelancer’s Bible by Sara Horowitz

Tough times in the job market has spurred on a renewed trend in entrepreneurship in America.  With more and more people turning to careers as freelancers, it is important to know the details that will help somebody “taking the leap” transition a dream into a viable dream job.  The Freelancer’s Bible is written by the founder of Freelancer’s Union, Sara Horowitz.  In it she covers the particulars of running your own successful business.  Topics covered include getting insurance, taxes, managing your business, and even techniques for finding new clients (not always things at the top of the creative professionals “to-do” list).  Also be sure to check out the Freelancer’s Union website where you can become a member, set up a profile and be a part of one of the fastest growing professional communities for FREE.

Photoshop CS6 and Lightroom 4 by Stephen Laskevitch

Photoshop CS6 and Lightroom 4 by Stephen Laskevitch

Photoshop CS6 and Lightroom 4 by Stephen Laskevitch

I had the opportunity to attend a workshop last week that was presented by Stephen Laskevitch himself.  At the end of the presentation a couple of his books were raffled off and I actually won!  I’m looking forward to reading this one regardless of it becoming a recent impromptu addition to my reading list.  Since it’s new, I made a promise to Stephen that I would indeed write a review of it when I’m finished (or send him an email complaining about it).  Learning techniques from other people using the same tools as you is a great way to learn and although I’m extremely proficient in Adobe CS6, by no means do I know everything that the vastness of Adobe Creative Suite has to offer (but that sure as hell won’t stop me from trying).  Thanks for the free book Steve!

Pricing & Ethical Guidelines

Graphic Artist’s Guild Pricing & Ethical Guidelines

Graphic Artist’s Guild Handbook Pricing & Ethical Guidelines

The time for my annual run through this tome of invaluable information has finally come.  This will be my third time and I’ve got my hi-lighter and post-its ready to rock n’ roll for the next rainy weekend.  I’ve heard rumblings of a new 14th edition coming but until then I will rely on this one for reference.  This book is an essential piece of any creative professional’s personal library and if you haven’t at least scanned through it…you should.

