Head in the Cloud

by Michael Zabel

Adobe has decided to abandon the development of good old fashioned software for it’s Creative Suite collection and in hindsight, I should have seen it coming.  Ever since the inception of the Creative Cloud, I have been relentlessly bombarded with emails and web banners pushing me to give it a try or subscribe to the monthly fee to get all the latest bells and whistles that only a Creative Cloud account will give you.  Now, it might seem as though I am a little peeved about this new development, but to be completely honest, I’m not sure how to react to this news.  For many of the negative reasons there was a positive rebuttal in favor of the new cloud service.  The biggest positive that I can see thus far is this will fix the limitations that an “in-the-box” software will naturally incur over its lifetime.  With the Creative Cloud, as long as you pay your monthly fee, you will never have to worry about having out-of-date software.  Pricing is comparable to what is already in place for the Creative Suite software (still offering a discounted rate for businesses, students & teachers, and to those of us who are just looking to upgrade) and single programs are available for around twenty bucks a month.  Personally, I’d like to see Adobe add a flat rate option in the future in which a discounted price is available for yearly subscriptions of Creative Cloud.  Another thing to keep in mind is that you will no longer have to choose between software bundles and the inherent limitations of programs each one offers  (i.e., Design & Web Premium, Design Standard, Web Premium, etc).  As far as I can tell the Creative Cloud will give you everything Adobe has to offer, much like the Master Collection of yore.

Immediate reception of Adobe’s big announcement this week has been polarizing to say the least.  Even after presenting the evidence in this post, I’m still not sure if I feel to strongly one way or the other.  If anything I’m impressed that Adobe made such a ballsy move (but I would too if people were ripping off my software).  I will say, however, that it seems only human to reject extremely progressive ideas when they first see the light of day.  My advice…if you’re not comfortable with subscribing to the Cloud right now, upgrade to CS6 and wait it out for a little while.  And while I’m not condoning the use of quotations,  I will leave you with two that have been running through my mind since Monday afternoon that I find appropriate:

“It’s not the tools but the craftsman that makes art.”

“You can’t expect to meet the challenges of today with yesterday’s tools and expect to be in business tomorrow.”    

 

 

