Ramblings from the final frontier…

by Michael Zabel

Once in a while something will come along that completely shatters all preconceived notions I might have on a particular topic.  Until about two days ago, and this may shock some of you out there, I always thought of Star Trek, the original television program, as a just another campy portrayal of the sci-fi from that era.  On top of this  (let’s just call it unjust for argument sake) opinion, the cult following that the show has generated over the years has inadvertently left me with some deep-seeded resentment towards the show in that I would never be able to truly appreciate its journey since I’ve blindly opposed it for so long.  Let me just restate that…I’ve blatantly renounced Star Trek my entire life and I’ve never even watched it!  Sorry to all you Trekkies out there, but it doesn’t make any sense to me either.  Getting back to the point, mind changers and what to do when you are confronted with one…

Star Trek: The Art of Juan Ortiz

Star Trek: The Art of Juan Ortiz

This book stopped me dead in my tracks.  Upon a quick flip through I was hooked and had to look at every piece, cover to cover.  While lost in these pages I subconsciously released any bitterness; all my discontent and cynicism dissolved in a transporter accident.   Acrimony vanished in dematerialization, never to be seen or heard from again (I hope I got that right).  Through these posters, Juan Ortiz has warped my opinion for the better.  His art has made me curious for exploration, ready to step out of this world into the vast frontier of outer space and its infinite threshold, to find out the meaning of each and every one of these posters.

So moving forward, what I really would like to say is that I think I’m finally ready to accept Star Trek into my life thanks to the little push from these beautifully crafted posters.  That is, of course, if the Trekkie community will accept my application to join their ranks on the Starship Enterprise.  Then all I will need is some spare time to watch them all…

